International Conference "Charles Ehresmann : 100 ans"

Université de Picardie Jules Verne à Amiens
7-8-9 October 2005


This Conference has been organized for the 100th anniversary of the birth of Charles Ehresmann (1905-1979).

Charles Ehresmann, successively Professor at the "Université de Strasbourg", at "Université de Paris" then "Université de Paris VII" (from 1957 to 1975), has been an internationally known mathematician. His works are at the root of several fundamental notions in Topology (locally trivial fibred spaces, foliated manifolds), , in Differential Geometry (jets theory, prolongation of differentiable manifolds), in Category Theory (internal categories, sketch theory). They still have several applications not only in Mathematics, but also in Computer Science and in Physics.

In 1958 he created the mathematical Journal "Cahiers de Topologie et Géométrie Différentielle", (now under the direction of Andrée C. Ehresmann).


This Conference will take place in Amiens, for Charles Ehresmann put a lot of time and effort into the Université de Picardie during his last 10 years. In particular, from 1970 on, he co-directed with Andrée (Bastiani-Ehresmann the research team "Theory and Applications of Categories", Paris-Amiens, which organized in Amiens two international Conferences (1973 and 1975), and regular "Journées TAC" from 1970 to 1978. Several theses were prepared in this team. In recognition of this implication which gave a boost to the mathematical research in Amiens, his name was given to an amphitheatre of this scientific pole.


"Les Oeuvres complètes" de Charles Ehresmann, published from 1980 to 1984, have appeared as Supplements to the "Cahiers de Topologie et Géométrie Différentielle".
Abstracts from the Conference will be published in an issue of the "Cahiers de Topologie et Géométrie Différentielle Catégoriques".
Complete papers will be available on this Internet site, dedicated to Charles Ehresmann.
For more information, please contact Mme Andrée C. Ehresmann,
Andrée C. Ehresmann (Amiens), Elisabeth Vaugelade (Amiens), Francis Borceux (Louvain La Neuve), Georges Fare (Washington), Jean-Paul Vanbremeersch (Amiens)